Skip links

Texas Misdemeanor Lawyer

Texas is widely recognized as one of the harshest states when it comes to criminal penalties, and this includes misdemeanors. According to Texas criminal law there are three different levels of misdemeanor offenses you can be charged with: Class A, Class B, and Class C. The penalties for your offense can vary depending on the level of misdemeanor with which you are charged.

Class A Misdemeanors

These crimes can lead to a one-year jail sentence as well as a fine up to $4,000.
Examples of Class A Misdemeanors Include:
  • DWI (second offense)
  • Assault with bodily injury
  • Burglary of a vehicle or vending machine
  • Possession of two to four ounces of marijuana
  • Unlawful carrying of a weapon
  • Gambling promotion
  • Violation of protective orders
  • Cruelty to animals
  • Perjury
  • Public lewdness
  • Resisting arrest
  • Unlawful restraint

Class B Misdemeanors

These crimes may carry a jail sentence up to 180 days as well as a fine up to $2,000.
Examples of Class B Misdemeanors Include:

Class C Misdemeanors

These crimes are punishable by a fine up to $500.
Examples of Class C Misdemeanors Include:
  • Disorderly conduct
  • Public intoxication
  • Bad checks
  • Simple assault
  • Criminal trespass
  • Gambling
  • Bail jumping
  • Leaving a child in a vehicle
  • Petty theft such as shoplifting
  • Possession of alcoholic beverage in a motor vehicle
  • Driving under the influence of alcohol by a minor
  • Minor in possession of alcohol
  • Minor in possession of tobacco

Contact a Skilled Misdemeanor Lawyer in Houston

If you or someone you care about has been charged with a misdemeanor crime, don’t take chances with your future. Call Rubin Law Firm, PLLC and speak with a Houston misdemeanor attorney on (713) 354-4915 to discuss your case and to learn more about how we can help.

Call Us Today!

(832) 840-1115